Field Operations

The Florida Forest Service, with its State Office located in Tallahassee, has divided the state into 15 field units that are grouped into four regions. Our field units are led by the Field Operations Bureau Chief and four regional Deputy Chiefs, who are responsible for implementing the Florida Forest Service's forestry programs. The multi-functional workforce of personnel and equipment provides a more responsive and comprehensive approach to land management and wildland fire control statewide.

Citizens with questions regarding our wildland fire and forest management programs, including burn authorization requests, wildland fire reporting, arsonist reporting, landowner assistance or bare root tree seedling orders should directly contact the field unit that serves your county.  Use this interactive map or select a county from the drop down menu to find the field unit office responsible for these services and programs in your county.

Field Unit by County: Field Unit by Unit Name and Number:

1-  Blackwater 
2-  Chipola
4-  Tallahassee
5-  Perry 
6-  Suwannee 
7-  Jacksonville 
8-  Waccasassa
10-  Bunnell
11-  Withlacoochee 
12-  Orlando
14-  Lakeland
15-  Myakka River
16-  Okeechobee
17-  Caloosahatchee 
18-  Everglades
Map showing forestry Field Unit areas  Blackwater Forestry Center  Chipola Forestry Center  Tallahassee Forestry Center  Perry District  Suwannee Forestry Center  Jacksonville District  Waccasassa Forestry Center  Bunnell District  Withlacoochee Forestry Center  Orlando District  Lakeland District  Okeechobee District  Myakka River District  Caloosahatchee District  Everglades District