Frequently Asked Questions

Below is a list of the most commonly asked questions. We hope you find them helpful and informative.


How do I apply for a license?

Applications and Application Instructions are available online ( Concealed Weapon or Firearm License or  Private Investigation, Recovery and Security Licenses) or by contacting any of our  regional offices. The Application Instructions provide detailed information about the process; however, if you need additional assistance, please call our Public Inquiry Section at (850) 245-5691 or use our web form to ask your question.

How do I check the status of my application?

I submitted my application for a Concealed Weapon or Firearm License via U.S. Mail. How long will processing take?

As of the beginning of this current business quarter, the turnaround time for processing a concealed weapon license application is ranging from approximately 50 to 55 days. Our standard policy is to process pending applications in the order in which they arrive in our mail room.

Please be aware that BY LAW our division has 90 days from the date on which we receive a complete application to either issue a license or deny the application. In most cases, we issue licenses well before the 90-day deadline, but an increase in the volume of applications being submitted may cause longer turnaround times. In fact, the single most important factor affecting our turnaround time is our workload. 

You should know that the time required to process your application will significantly increase if we encounter any of the following three scenarios during the review of your application:

  1. IF YOUR APPLICATION IS INCOMPLETE –
    If we find that your application is INCOMPLETE for some reason (a missing answer to a question; a personal check made out for the wrong amount; no firearms training documentation; a photograph that does not meet specifications; etc.), we will notify you by letter of this problem and request that you provide us with the missing information or documentation.
  2. IF YOUR FINGERPRINTS ARE ILLEGIBLE –
    If law enforcement authorities determine that your fingerprints are insufficiently legible to complete a proper background check, we will send you a letter requesting a second fingerprint submission as required by law. If your second fingerprint submission is also deemed illegible, we can then ask the FBI to conduct a name-based background check. A determination as to your eligibility for a concealed weapon license will be based on the results of this final background check.
  3. IF YOUR BACKGROUND CHECK RESULTS ARE INCONCLUSIVE –
    In some cases, the background check results we receive from law enforcement authorities indicate that an applicant was arrested for a potentially disqualifying crime, but those background check results do not reflect a final disposition regarding that arrest. In these cases, we will contact law enforcement authorities for assistance in obtaining this disposition information.

If you would like to learn more about the ongoing demand for Florida concealed weapon licenses, we invite you to visit our  Statistical Reports web page. The two reports at the bottom of this page, APPLICATIONS RECEIVED and VALID LICENSES, include statistical data that will be of interest to concealed weapon licensees and applicants.

What is the term of my license?

  • The Concealed Weapon or Firearm License issued under the authority of Section 790.06, Florida Statutes, has a license term of 7 years.
  • An agency license or branch office license issued under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, has a license term of 3 years.
  • The Class "K" Firearms Instructor License issued under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, has a license term of 3 years.
  • Licenses issued to individuals (including agency managers) and to schools/training facilities under the authority of Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, have a license term of 2 years.

How do I order a Division of Licensing form or publication?

Visit our Form and Publication Request pages to download our forms or request to have them mailed to you.

How do I notify the division about my change of address?

How do I notify the division about my name change?

  • Individuals -
    Simply submit a written request and a copy of the legal document evidencing your name change to the Division of Licensing. You can have a revised license printed for a fee of $15, payable by check or money order to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. If you prefer, you may keep your current license until it is time to renew. At time of renewal, remember to send your written request and a copy of the legal document evidencing your name change with your renewal application and we will issue your renewal license with your legal name.
  • Agencies -
    Whether you intend to do business under a fictitious name or as a corporation, contact our Public Inquiry Section at (850) 245-5691 for tentative name approval prior to filing with the Department of State, Division of Corporations for your fictitious name and/or registration as a corporation.

    Please note tentative name approval does not constitute a reservation of that name. To ensure you get the name you want, mail a copy of the documentation provided to you by the Division of Corporations with your written notification, original license, and a $10 fee as soon as possible to Division of Licensing, P.O. Box 5767, Tallahassee, FL 32314-5657.

How do I renew my license?

The division will send your renewal application form with complete instructions on how to renew your license approximately 150 days prior to the expiration date of your license.

Although online renewal is not yet available, if your license has not expired or is not under administrative review, rather than including a check or money order when you return your renewal application by mail, you may pay by credit card using the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' online payment system. Look for the link, Renew your license in the information box on the right of the webpage pertaining to your license: Concealed Weapon or Firearm License, Private Investigation, Private Security, or Recovery and Repossession.

Alternatively, a Concealed Weapon or Firearm License can be renewed at one of the Division of Licensing's eight  regional offices. You can simply walk in to one of our regional offices, submit your renewal application and leave with your license in hand. Bring your unsigned renewal form with you. We will perform the notary service and take your picture at no additional charge. Renewal services are also available at  authorized tax collector's offices but an appointment may be required and a service fee may apply.

To return your renewal application by U.S. Mail:

  • Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Renewals:
    Division of Licensing
    P.O. Box 6387
    Tallahassee, FL 32314-6387
  • Private Investigation, Recovery and Security License Renewals:
    Division of Licensing
    P.O. Box 5767
    Tallahassee, FL 32314-5767

Can I renew my expired license?

  • Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Renewals:

    A Concealed Weapon license can be renewed if it has not been expired more than six months. A late fee of $15 is required in addition to the renewal license fee [ Adobe PDF Document 51.04 KB ]. If the license has been expired for longer than six months, the former licensee must reapply for a new license. If you need another renewal notice sent to you, please contact our  Public Inquiry Section via email or phone (850) 245-5691. If your license has been expired longer than the allowable time, you must apply for a new license.

  • Private Investigation, Recovery and Security License Renewals:

    A license issued to an individual or agency regulated by Chapter 493, Florida Statutes, can be renewed if it has not been expired for more than three months. A late fee equal to the amount of the license fee is required in addition to the renewal license fee [ Adobe PDF Document 51.04 KB ]. If the license has been expired for longer than three months, the former licensee must reapply for a new license. If your license has been expired longer than the allowable time, you must apply for a new license.

How do I find out more about the Division of Licensing and its services?

The Division of Licensing is responsible for the licensing and regulation of persons providing  private security servicesprivate investigative services and  recovery services. The division is also responsible for the issuance of  Concealed Weapon or Firearm Licenses to qualified individuals for personal self-protection.

How do I find out about other persons regulated by the state of Florida?

The division recommends the following resources:

I have a Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm License, but I was rejected when I tried to purchase a firearm in Florida. Who should I contact for help?

The Firearm Purchase Program is administered by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. For assistance, please contact the Firearms Purchase Program at firearmpurchasing@fdle.state.fl.us or (850) 410-8140.

I received a notice informing me that the processing of my application for a Concealed Weapon or Firearm License has been suspended. Who should I contact for help?

The notice provides an explanation regarding why the processing of your application is being suspended and includes contact information as well as an Election of Rights form so that you may exercise your right to a hearing on the matter.

I received a letter informing me that my application has been denied. Who should I contact for help?

The denial letter provides an explanation regarding why your application is being denied and includes contact information as well as an Election of Rights form so that you may exercise your right to a hearing on the matter.

I received a Notice of Suspension pertaining to my license. Who should I contact for help?

The Notice of Suspension provides an explanation regarding why your license is being suspended and includes contact information as well as an Election of Rights form so that you may exercise your right to a hearing on the matter.

I received an Administrative Complaint pertaining to my license. Who should I contact for help?

The Administrative Complaint provides an explanation regarding why action is being initiated by the department against your license and includes contact information as well as an Election of Rights form so that you may exercise your right to a hearing on the matter.

How can I file a complaint about an individual, agency, school or instructor providing Private Security Services, Private Investigative Services, or Recovery Services?

To file a complaint about an individual, agency, school or instructor providing Private Security Services, Private Investigative Services, or Recovery Services, contact the regional office nearest you or you may use our online form to file your complaint.

Where can I send my general comment or suggestion about the programs administered by the Division of Licensing?

We appreciate your taking the time to submit your comments and suggestions.