Division of Animal Industry
The Division of Animal Industry serves as the guardian of the health of Florida's livestock and poultry industries and other animal populations.
Animal Disease Control
The Bureau administers the programs which ensure that all livestock entering the State meet specific health requirements as provided in the rules. This includes reviewing health documents, issuing import permits, ordering necessary quarantine measures on livestock movement violations, coordinating with other state regulatory and USDA officials, recording livestock marks and brands, issuing livestock hauler permits, issuing permits for transporting animal carcasses/refuse, providing the necessary permit forms to accredited veterinarians, and notification of violations.
- Chapter 585, Animal Industry, Part I, 1999, General Provisions
- Chapter 585, Animal Industry, Part II Disease, Inspection, Eradication & Control
- Chapter 534, Livestock Marks and Brands; Stamping Beef
- Section 570.36, Animal Industry Powers and Duties
- Section 570.38, Animal Industry Technical Council
- 5C-3 Importation of Animals
- 5C-4 Admission of Animals for Exhibition
- 5C-5 Livestock Markets; Diseased Animals
- 5C-6 Brucellosis
- 5C-7 Bovine Tuberculosis
- 5C-11 Swine Garbage Feeding
- 5C-13 State Diagnostic Laboratories
- 5C-14 Equine Piroplasmosis
- 5C-16 Poultry Diseases
- 5C-18 Equine Infectious Anemia
- 5C-20 Dangerous Transmissible Diseases
- 5C-21 Pseudorabies
- 5C-22 Contagious Equine Metritis
- 5C-23 Transporting Animal Carcasses/Refuse
- 5C-24 Schedule of Fees for Services
- 5C-25 Humane Euthanasia of Livestock
- 5C-26 Cervidae Movement
- 5C-27 Sale of Dog or Cat
- 5C-28, Dogs and Cats - Intrastate Transfer of Ownership
- 5C-29, Scrapie
- 5C-30, Enforcement and Penalties
Frequently Asked Questions
Livestock Haulers' Permits
- What is the purpose of the Livestock Haulers Permit?
Issuance of the permit improves control over livestock thefts and other illicit livestock operations.
- What is the cost of permit?
Five dollars ($5) per annum.
- Is it permissible to register all trailers using one application?
No. One application is needed for each unit.
- Is it permissible for temporary permits to be assigned?
or you may pay online by following the links at : http://www.freshfromflorida.com/payments.html
Permit to Transport Animal Carcasses/Refuse
- Why is a permit needed to transport animal carcasses/refuse?
Permits are issued in order to address health concerns.
- Is there a fee included?
Yes. Annual fee of $200.00 per business entity.
- What type of container is required?
Any type of container (including plastic bags) durable enough to prevent seepage of fluids.
- Is labeling (inedible) required on transport containers?
Yes, labeling is required on transport containers. However, labels are not required for temporary transporting in plastic bags.
Application for Brand Record
- How does one apply for a brand?
Contact the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Animal Industry, 407 South Calhoun Street, Room 315, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0800 or phone (850) 410-0900.
- How does one determine if a specific brand is available?
One must contact the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Animal Industry at the address and phone number above. One may fax brand drawing to 850/410-0946 with return fax and phone number.
- Is there a charge for brand registration?
Yes, a ten dollars ($10) charge is required for brand registration with a five dollar ($5) renewal fee every 5 years thereafter.
- Is it permissible to have the same brand issued to more than one individual?
No, brands are issued statewide. (Director may give permission to issue a brand for countywide use.)
- How long does it take to get brand certification?
Depending on mail time, brand certification should take no longer than two (2) weeks.
- How does one obtain a Brucellosis Certification?
In order to obtain a certification, one must have 2 complete negative herd tests 10 to 14 months apart. Your private veterinarian must complete the application after 2nd test.
- What is the age requirement of the animal for testing in order to obtain a Brucellosis Certification?
The animal should be approximately six months of age at the time of brucellosis testing.
- How does one know the anniversary date for brucellosis testing?
Upon certification the applicant will receive a letter and a certificate with a seal attached from the division office. The second negative test will become the anniversary date, as noted on the certificate.
- What is the expiration of the brucellosis certification?
Your seal will indicate your expiration date however, you have 60-days either side to get your animals brucellosis tested.
- Are state personnel available to test my cows?
No, one must hire a private veterinarian to conduct brucellosis testing.
Application for Permit to Feed Garbage to Swine
- How does one obtain an application to feed garbage to swine?
One must contact the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Animal Industry at 850/410-0900. The request will be forwarded to a Department representative in respective District (I-VI) to contact the applicant, or the applicant will be provided the name and telephone number of the District Supervisor. The area inspector will contact the applicant regarding the request.
- Why must food waste products be cooked prior to feeding the food to swine?
Food waste products from commercial sources may come in contact with raw or partially cooked meat products. Therefore, in order to insure that such products are free of disease organisms that may be transmitted to swine, the food products must be recooked.
- Is a garbage feeding permit required if one feeds food waste products from one's own house to swine for personal use?
A permit is not required as long as swine fed such food waste products are for one's own personal use.
- What type of cooking facility is needed in order to cook food waste products?
Any container that is adequate in capacity to hold the food waste product and has the ability to cook the product to the required temperature degree and time is acceptable. The fire source must be enclosed under the cooker. A Department representative will provide necessary instructions for construction of the cooker.
- To what temperature and how long must one cook food waste products before one can feed it to personally owned hogs?
The cooking process requires the food waste products to reach a temperature of at least 212 degrees for a period of at least 30 minutes in order to meet acceptable standards.
- How often will one's garbage feeding facility be inspected upon receipt of a permit?
Inspections are conducted at least once per month. All inspections are unannounced.
- What is the procedure in the event that violations are found during an inspection of one's permitted facility?
A Notice of Violation is issued and quarantine is required if raw garbage or uncooked food waste is being fed. Follow-up inspections are conducted to insure compliance. Fines are imposed on those who do not comply with the requirements for the facility.
Owner's Agreement for Contagious Equine Metritis Quarantine (CEM)
- Why do stallions and mares imported from certain foreign countries have to undergo CEM Quarantine upon arrival in the United States?
CEM is a disease that does not exist in the United States. Breeding animals originating from countries where CEM exists must enter approved CEM Quarantine facilities for testing procedures. These procedures must be conducted to prove that horses are not affected with CEM.
- Why are non-breeding horses (i.e., geldings, spayed mares) not required to undergo CEM Quarantine upon arrival in the United States?
CEM is a sexually transmitted disease that is spread by breeding horses. Therefore, sexually immature horses, geldings and spayed mares are exempt from CEM Quarantine upon arrival in the United States.
- Where must one obtain an application of the Owner's Agreement for Quarantine for CEM?
One must contact the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Animal Industry, 407 S. Calhoun Street, Room 331 Mayo Building, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800 or call 850/410-0900.
- Where must one obtain a list of approved CEM Quarantine Facilities in Florida?
One must contact the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Animal Industry, 407 South Calhoun Street at 850/410-0900 or contact a broker.
- Are there states other than Florida that operate approved CEM Quarantine Facilities?
Yes, a list of CEM Quarantine Facilities located in states other than Florida is available through the USDA-APHIS-VS, Hyattsville, MD, phone (301)734-7885. The information may be found in Title 9, Code of Federal Regulation, Part 93.301. Also, one may wish to contact a broker.
- How does one obtain the services of a Florida licensed and federally accredited veterinarian to perform the required quarantine procedures?
The approved CEM Quarantine Facility operator will provide a qualified veterinarian to perform the required procedures or one may request the services of any other qualified veterinarian.
- What fees are charged by the state for mares and stallions undergoing CEM Quarantine Procedures?
The Department charges $1,250 for a single horse and $750 for each additional horse in a shipment of two or more horses. These fees cover the cost of a state employed veterinarian providing oversight for all required procedures performed from the time the animal arrives at the facility until the animal leaves the facility. The procedure requires several visits by the state employed veterinarian for travel and time spent. The steps of the procedure include: breaking seal on the transporting vehicle, issuing quarantine, providing oversight on all diagnostic procedures and tests conducting tests by the attending veterinarian. Also, the veterinarian is responsible for releasing the quarantine when all diagnostic tests and procedures are completed.
- What is the procedure for any stallion/mare failing to qualify for the release from CEM Quarantine?
If a horse fails to qualify for release from CEM Quarantine within 18 months of initiation of testing and treatment, the owner must contact the Division at (850) 410-0900 to discuss release options.
Extension of the Equine Official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (OCVI or health certificate)
- Can the official certificate of veterinary inspection on my horse be extended past 30 days?
Yes. While the equine OCVI is usually valid for 30 days from the date of the veterinary exam, there are three methods to extend the OCVI to 6 months. The three documents are the Equine Interstate Passport Card and Equine Event Extension, which are issued by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Go Pass issued by GlobalVetLink. These documents are intended to make interstate travel to equine events in participating states more convenient.
- What if my coggins expires during the 6 month period my OCVI has been extended?
The official date of expiration of the three extension documents is six months from the date of the veterinary exam on the OCVI or the expiration of the coggins test, whichever is earlier.
- In what states are these documents valid?
The Equine Interstate Passport Card and the GoPass are documents that contain digital pictures of the horse and are currently being accepted by:
Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Kentucky, Virginia and West Virginia.The Equine Event Extension is a paper document and is currently accepted by:
Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.
- How can I obtain an application for the documents?
To obtain an application or additional information about the Equine Interstate Passport Card and Equine Event Extension, click on the application links below:
Link to the Equine Passport Card: DACS-09219- Application for Equine Interstate Passport Card
Or call (863) 297-3974
Or e-mail to email@example.com.
To obtain further information on the GoPass contact GlobalVetLink at: http://globalvetlink.com/ or
Please follow the instructions provided below when printing and completing the forms listed.
- Use the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to view or print forms. Skip this step if Adobe Reader is already installed on your pc.
- Print forms on white 8 1/2" x 11" paper.
- Type or print the entire form in blue or black ink.
- Mail check(s) to: FDACS-Animal Industry, Post Office Box 6710, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-6710 or you may pay online by following the links at: http://www.freshfromflorida.com/payments.html.
- DACS-09010 - Application for Livestock Haulers Permit
- DACS-09036 - Application for Registration as a Livestock Dealer in the State of Florida
- DACS-09056 - Application and Permit to Transport Animal Carcasses/Refuse
- DACS-09011 - Application for Brand Record
- DACS-09001 - Owner's Agreement for Quarantine for Contagious Equine Metritis
- DACS-09078 - Application for Equine Event Extension
- DACS-09206 - Application for Negative EIA Test Verification Card
- DACS-09219 - Application for Equine Interstate Passport Card
- Division of Animal Industry
- APHIS Rules and Notices
- Veterinary Services
- Code of Federal Regulations: Retrieve by CFR Citation
If you have any questions about any Division of Animal Industry licenses, permits, registrations or regulations, please contact:
Records Section/Division of Animal Industry
407 South Calhoun Street #315
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
Phone: (850) 410-0900
Fax: (850) 410-0946