Loading...

Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Pesticide Applicator Certification and Licensing

Contact Us

(850) 617-7870  
(850) 617-7895  Fax 
Tamara.James@FreshFromFlorida.com
AESCares@FreshFromFlorida.com 

Pesticide Certification Section
3125 Conner Blvd., Bldg. 8 (L-29)
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1650

Laws and Regulations

Florida Statutes
Chapters:  482, 487

Required Certification Exams

To apply for a pesticide applicator license in Florida, you must first pass the required certification exams. See a list of license categories, exams and study materials [ Adobe PDF Document 131.33 KB ].

Exam Sites

Some pesticide applicator certification exams are administered by the Cooperative Extension Service, and some are administered by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS).

Exams Administered by Extension

See a list of pesticide certification exams offered by county extension offices [ Adobe PDF Document 59.26 KB ].

Find your local county extension office.

Exams Administered by FDACS

The following exams are administered by FDACS on an as-needed basis:

  • Chlorine Gas Infusion Exam
  • Regulatory Inspection and Sampling Exam
  • Sewer Root Control Exam
  • Regulatory Pest Control Exam

To make arrangements for the first three exams, call (850) 617-7870. For the Regulatory Pest Control Exam, call (352) 395-4739.

How to Apply for a License

After you have passed your exams, FDACS will send you the required documentation to apply for your license.

License Fees

For new licenses or renewals:

License Fees

Private Applicator License

$100

Public Applicator License

$100

Commercial Applicator License

$250

Expiration Dates

Restricted use pesticide licenses are valid for four years and expire at the end of the month four years from issue date.

License Renewal

Approximately 60 days before a license expires, a renewal notice is sent to the applicator. To update your contact information, please visit our licensing website or use our Change of Address/Information [ Adobe PDF Document ] form.

To renew a pesticide applicator license, applicators must first become recertified by:

  • Retaking the certification exams or
  • Accumulating Continuing Education Units (CEUs).

If desired, you may renew some categories by reexamination and other categories with CEUs. The licensee should select the method of renewal and return the renewal form along with the required license fee and copies of the CEU attendance forms if renewing by CEUs. If renewing by reexamination, the applicator should take the exams before returning the renewal notice.

Applicator licenses may be renewed for up to one year after the expiration date. For renewal by reexamination, the exams must be passed within 12 months of the license expiration date (from 12 months before license expiration until 12 months after license expiration), giving a two-year period to pass the exams. All renewal paperwork and the license renewal fee must be received by FDACS and the license must be reissued no later than one year after the license expiration date.

Learn more about CEU requirements.

Expired Licenses

If a license is not renewed before it expires, no restricted use pesticides may be purchased or applied until the license is renewed.

If a license is renewed after the expiration date, the applicator must submit a signed and notarized affidavit stating that they have not purchased or applied any restricted use pesticides since the license has expired.

If a license is renewed more than 60 days after it expired, a $50 late fee is required in addition to the affidavit. Affidavit forms are mailed out with the renewal notices.

Licenses that have been expired for more than one year cannot be renewed. However, a new license can be obtained at any time by taking the certification exams again.

Out-of-State Requirements

Applicators who are not Florida residents must file a Designation of Registered Agent [ Adobe PDF Document 76.99 KB ] form with the Florida Department of State before a Florida pesticide applicator license will be issued.

Reciprocal Certification

Florida has developed reciprocal agreements [ Adobe PDF Document 62.19 KB ] with six other states to allow applicators licensed or certified in those states to obtain a Florida license without being retested. Reciprocal agreements waive the requirement for applicators certified in reciprocal states, agencies and tribes to take the Florida certification exams. However, the license requirement is not waived. All individuals who apply restricted use pesticides in Florida or who apply any pesticide in Florida by aerial delivery must have a Florida license issued by FDACS.

Reciprocal certification may be possible with states, agencies and tribes without a reciprocal agreement in place, on a case-by-case basis.

Florida licenses can be issued for a term of no more than four years, so the expiration date on the Florida license may not be the same as the expiration date on the reciprocal license.