Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
State Veterinarian's Office
Laws and Regulations
Florida Administrative Code
Intrastate (Movement Within Florida)
Swine for Exhibition
Florida-origin swine for exhibition must be accompanied by an Official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection, also known as a health certificate, dated not more than 90 days before exhibition.
Breeding swine for exhibition must be maintained in isolation between exhibitions or move directly between exhibitions. Breeding swine returning to the farm from exhibitions must be isolated from other swine at least 30 days before being returned to the herd.
Tests and certification required for breeding swine:
- Swine 6 months of age or older must be negative to an official test for brucellosis within 30 days prior to exhibition, or
- Originate from a Validated Brucellosis-Free Swine Herd, or
- Originate from a commercial production swine herd.
- Swine 6 months of age or older must be negative to an official test for pseudorabies within 30 days prior to exhibition, or
- Originate from a Qualified Pseudorabies-Free Herd, or
- Originate from a commercial production swine herd.
Swine for exhibition as “market class” swine are exempt from the certificate of veterinary inspection and test requirements provided that all swine in the class go directly to slaughter following the exhibition.
Transitional Swine Movement
Transitional swine moved from Florida to another state for purposes other than immediate slaughter must be negative to a pseudorabies and brucellosis test conducted within 30 days before movement and must be segregated from other swine between the time of testing and movement out of Florida.
Feral Swine Movement
If you wish to trap feral swine, you must register as a Feral Swine Dealer with the State Veterinarian's Office. A Feral Swine Dealer Card can be obtained by contacting the State Veterinarian's Office at (850) 410-0900.
Feral swine may be moved directly to:
- A recognized slaughtering establishment,
- A Fish and Wildlife-approved game reserve or
- A Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services-approved feral swine holding facility without testing. To keep feral swine, a Feral Swine Holding Facility Permit is required and may be obtained by contacting the State Veterinarian's Office at (850) 410-0900.
Feral swine moved to any other locations must be segregated from all other swine and test negative for pseudorabies and brucellosis on two consecutive tests conducted at least 60 days apart.
Interstate (Movement Between States)
Importing Swine into Florida
If you are importing swine into Florida from another state (otherwise known as interstate movement), there are certain rules that apply. Chapter 5C-3, Florida Administrative Code, states all requirements for the importation of animals into Florida.
If you are bringing swine into Florida for any reason, you must get permission from the State Veterinarian's Office before you travel. Contact the State Veterinarian's Office at (850) 410-0900. If you do not have a prior permission number, you may be denied entry into the state with your animals.
Feral swine cannot be brought into Florida for any reason unless they have an Official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection, have tested negative twice for swine brucellosis and the pseudorabies virus and have a prior permission number.
Swine from Commercial Production Herds
Swine from commercial production herds may be moved without testing.
If swine are not from a commercial production swine herd, they must be segregated from all other swine and test negative for pseudorabies on two consecutive tests conducted at least 60 days apart.
Swine Not Consigned to Slaughter
Swine coming into Florida must have prior permission.
Swine must be inspected by a veterinarian and have an Official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection stating that the animals are free from infectious disease.
Swine must test negative for swine brucellosis within 30 days before coming into the state, or be from a Validated Brucellosis-Free State or originate directly from a Validated Brucellosis-Free Herd. The Validated Brucellosis-Free Herd number and the date of the last certification test within the past 12 months must be written on the certificate of veterinary inspection.
Swine must also test negative for the pseudorabies virus within 30 days before coming into the state or originate from a Pseudorabies Stage IV or V (Pseudorabies-Free) State or be a Qualified Pseudorabies-Negative Feeder Swine Herd.
Swine Consigned to Slaughter
The shipment must be consigned directly to a recognized slaughter establishment and be accompanied by a prior permission number. The prior permission number must be written on your Owner-Shipper Statement. The Owner-Shipper Statement has to be signed by the owner or agent and provide the following information:
- The name and physical address of the consignor (person delivering the animals),
- The name and physical address of the consignee (person receiving the animals),
- The point of origin (premises where the animals originate),
- The point of destination (premises where the animals are being shipped),
- The number of animals and
- A description of the animals sufficient to identify them for any and all purposes.
An Official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection and a negative test for swine brucellosis and pseudorabies virus are not required to enter the state.
Obtaining Prior Permission
The prior permission number can be obtained by filling out our online application or by calling our office at (850) 410-0900 Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
You must have the following information available:
- Veterinarian information (certificate of veterinary inspection, testing dates or certification number),
- Consignor information,
- Consignee information and
- Animal information (number, type).
Remember, the prior permission number must be written on your certificate of veterinary inspection or Owner-Shipper Statement.