Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Mark and brand certificates are issued through the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS).
Chapter 534.021, Florida Statutes, requires that any livestock owner in Florida who uses a mark or brand to identify their livestock must register the mark or brand by applying to FDACS.
Learn more about Florida cattle identification.
How to Apply for a New Mark or Brand
Complete an Application for New Brand Record [ ].
Submit the completed application and the $10 application fee to FDACS as indicated on the form.
When filling out the application, applicants are asked to include a drawing of proposed new brands so the drawing can be checked against existing brands to avoid duplication. Check current Florida livestock brands.
How to Renew a Mark or Brand
You must apply for renewal of the mark and brand every 10 years.
A renewal notice explaining the renewal process will be mailed to the address on file 60 days prior to the expiration date of your mark or brand.
A second renewal notice will be sent by mail if the mark or brand registration has not been renewed before end of the month of expiration.
Failure to apply for renewal within 30 days after receipt of the second notice will cause the owner's mark or brand to be placed on an inactive list for a period of 12 months, after which it will be cancelled and become available for registration by another person.
Ownership and Transfer
Marks and brands are the property of the owner and may be sold, assigned or donated as personal property. Any instrument affecting the title of such a mark or brand shall be acknowledged in the presence of the recorded owner and a notary public, and shall be recorded by FDACS.
To transfer a mark or brand, complete a Bill of Sale/Transfer Livestock Marks and Brands [ ]. The fee for transferring a mark or brand is $10.
Penalties for Noncompliance
Livestock is not required to be branded or have ear marks, but if this type of identification is used it is required by law to be registered. Persons not abiding by this law may be charged with a misdemeanor of the second degree. The penalties are a definite term of imprisonment not exceeding 60 days or a fine of $500 or both.