Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Certified Prescribed Fire - Acreage

Prescribed burning is a land management tool that benefits the safety of the public, the environment, and the economy of the state. The Florida Forest Service offers a certification program for those who practice prescribed burning. Certified burners in Florida, because of their additional training, are allowed to burn when others cannot, to burn longer through the day, and are given liability protection as long as they follow the requirements in the law.  

The Florida Certified Prescribed Burn Manager Training Course is offered in two formats:

  • The Distance Learning Format 
  • The Classroom Format

These courses are designed to train individuals in public and private agencies and organizations that are charged with the responsibility of performing prescribed fires.

The current schedule for the classroom format is listed below, but can change so please check it periodically.

Distance Learning

The Certified Burner Correspondence Course is a web-based self study course for experienced burners who want to polish their skills and receive certification from the Florida Forest Service. Only those individuals who indicate that they have direct experience (not standby) in three or more acreage burns will be accepted as applicants. Please review the registration form (see link below) for more details.

Course Dates, Fees and Registration

Classroom Version 

This three-day course is open to individuals of all experience levels. 

While not required it is recommended the student have taken Incident Command System (I.C.S.) courses S-130 Firefighter Training, S-190 Introduction to Wildland Fire Behavior, or have hands-on fire experience. Check with local Florida Forest Service offices for these classes.

Prescribed Fire Class Schedule 14-15



Registration Closes

Tallahassee Forestry Center Office, Tallahassee*

October 23-25, 2017


Jacksonville District Office, Bryceville*

December 5-7, 2017


Withlacoochee Training Center, Brooksville**

January 2-5, 2018


East Manatee Fire Rescue, Bradenton*

January 16-18, 2018


Wekiwa Springs State Park, Apopka**

Jan 29–Feb 1, 2018 


Corbett Wildlife Management Area, West Palm Beach**

February 5-8. 2018


* 3-day version starts at 8 a.m. on first day, ends by 5 p.m. on third day. 
** 4-day version starts at 1 p.m. on first day, ends by noon on fourth day.

Note: The deadline for registration is approximately one month prior to each class allowing students time to review materials. Please refer to the course information and registration link below for deadline dates.

Prescribed Fire Course Information and Registration [ Adobe PDF Document 122.13 KB ]

Course Dates, Fees and Registration
  • Tuition for this class is $175 per student.
  • No courses scheduled at this time

Certified Prescribed Burn Manager Training - Course Manual

Interagency Basic Prescribed Fire Course Training Manual table




Table of Contents [ Adobe PDF Document 19.45 KB ]

Chapter 1:

Introduction [ Adobe PDF Document 44.49 KB ]

Chapter 2:

Why We Burn [ Adobe PDF Document 42.84 KB ]

Chapter 3:

Legal Requirements [ Adobe PDF Document 100.85 KB ]

Chapter 4:

Public Relations [ Adobe PDF Document 85.68 KB ]

Chapter 5:

Safety [ Adobe PDF Document 159.28 KB ]

Chapter 6:

Weather [ Adobe PDF Document 985.11 KB ]

Chapter 7:

Fire Behavior [ Adobe PDF Document 348.26 KB ]

Chapter 8:

Smoke Management [ Adobe PDF Document 97.22 KB ]

Chapter 9:

Ecological Effects [ Adobe PDF Document 497.18 KB ]

Chapter 10:

Firing Techniques [ Adobe PDF Document 380.01 KB ]

Chapter 11:

Holding and Contingencies [ Adobe PDF Document 150.66 KB ]

Chapter 12:

Planning and Evaluation [ Adobe PDF Document 109.30 KB ]


Appendices [ Adobe PDF Document 6.30 MB ]

Certified Prescribed Burn Managers (CPBM)