Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Class "K" Firearms Instructor License Requirements

Any person who provides classroom and range instruction to applicants for Class “G” licensure must have a Class “K” license.

Eligibility Requirements

To apply for a license, you must be at least 18 years old.

Citizenship Requirements

You must be either a U.S. citizen or a permanent legal resident alien to qualify for a Class "K" license, and you must provide documentation confirming your citizenship status.

  • If you were born in the United States, submit a copy of your birth certificate, U.S. passport, Social Security card, driver license, state-issued ID card, or voter registration card.
  • If you are a naturalized citizen, submit a copy of your U.S. passport or the official document issued by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services indicating that you are a naturalized citizen.
  • If you are not a U.S. citizen, submit a copy of your Permanent Legal Resident Alien card.


To qualify for a Class "K" license, you must submit a copy of one of the following with your application:

  • The Florida Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission Instructor Certificate and written confirmation by the commission that you possess an active firearms certification,
  • The National Rifle Association Private Security Firearm Instructor Certificate (see course schedule),
  • A firearms instructor certificate issued by a federal law enforcement agency, or
  • Proof of relevant military training or education received and completed during service in the United States Armed Forces.


You must successfully complete the Firearms Instructor's Examination administered by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Exams can be scheduled at one of our eight Regional Offices.

Application Instructions

Complete a Class "K" Firearms Instructor License Application [ Adobe PDF Document ].

Submit your application to:

  • The Regional Office nearest you or
  • Mail it to: Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing, P.O. Box 5767, Tallahassee, FL 32314-5767

Note to Military Veterans

The initial application and license fees for a veteran shall be waived if the application is received within 24 months of the applicant being discharged from any branch of the United States Armed Forces. Please include a copy of your DD 214.