Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Electric Utilities

Florida's electric service is provided by five investor-owned electric companies, 35 municipally owned electric companies and 18 rural electric cooperatives.

Investor-Owned Electric Utilities

Investor-owned utility rates and revenues are regulated by the Florida Public Service Commission.

The following is a comprehensive list of investor-owned electric companies in the state. 

Companies and locations



Florida Power and Light Company 

215 S. Monroe St., Ste. 810, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1858

Duke Energy

106 E. College Ave., Ste. 800, Tallahassee, FL 32301-7740

Tampa Electric Company

P.O. Box 111, Tampa, FL 33601-0111

Gulf Power Company

One Energy Pl., Pensacola, FL 32520-0780

Florida Public Utilities Corporation

1641 Worthington Rd., Ste. 220, West Palm Beach, FL 33409-6703

Municipal Electric Utilities

A municipal electric utility is an electric utility system owned and/or operated by a municipality engaged in serving residential, commercial and/or industrial customers, usually within the boundaries of the municipality. Municipally owned utility rates and revenues are regulated by their city commission. Most municipal electric utilities are represented by the Florida Municipal Electric Association.

The following is a comprehensive list of municipal electric utilities in the state. 

Companies and locations



City of Alachua

P.O. Box 9, Alachua, FL 32616-0009

City of Bartow

P.O. 1069, Bartow, FL 33831-1069

City of Blountstown

20591 W. Central Ave., Blountstown, FL 32424-2147

City of Bushnell

P.O. Box 115, Bushnell, FL 33513-0115

City of Chattahoochee

P.O. Box 188, Chattahoochee, FL 32324-0188

City of Clewiston

141 Central Ave., Clewiston, FL 33440-3701

City of Fort Meade

P.O. Box 856, Fort Meade, FL 33841-0856

Fort Pierce Utilities Authority

P.O. Box 3191, Fort Pierce, FL 34948-3191

Gainesville Regional Utilities/City of Gainesville

P.O. Box 147117, Station A-138, Gainesville, FL 32614-7117

City of Green Cove Springs Electric Utility

321 Walnut St., Green Cove Springs, FL 32043-3441

Town of Havana

P.O. Box 1068, Havana, FL 32333-1068

Homestead Energy Services

675 N. Flagler Ave., Homestead, FL 33030-6173

Jacksonville Electric Authority

21 W. Church St., Tower 16, Jacksonville, FL 32202-3158

Beaches Energy Services 

140 Shetter Ave., Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-3432

Keys Energy Services

P.O. Drawer 6100, Key West, FL 33041-6100

Kissimmee Utility Authority

P.O. Box 423219, Kissimmee, FL 34742-3219

City of Lakeland

501 E. Lemon St., Lakeland, FL 33801-5079

City of Lake Worth Utilities

1900 N. 2nd Ave., Lake Worth, FL 33461-4298

City of Leesburg

P.O. Box 490630, Leesburg, FL 34749-0630

Moore Haven Municipal Light Department

P.O. Box 399, Moore Haven, FL 33471-0399

City of Mount Dora

P.O. Box 176, Mount Dora, FL 32756-0176

City of Newberry Utility Department

P.O. Box 369, Newberry, FL 32669-0369

City of New Smyrna Beach Utilities Commission

P.O. Box 100, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32170-0100

City of Ocala

1805 NE 30th Ave., Bldg. 400, Ocala, FL 34470-4877

Orlando Utilities Commission

P.O. Box 3193, Orlando, FL 32802-3193

City of Quincy

423 W. Washington St., Quincy, FL 32351-2355

Reedy Creek Improvement District – Utilities Division

P.O. Box 10000, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830-1000

City of St. Cloud

1300 Ninth St., Saint Cloud, FL 34769-3399

City of Starke

P.O. Drawer C, Starke, FL 32091-1287

City of Tallahassee

300 S. Adams St., A-29, Tallahassee, FL 32301-1731

City of Vero Beach

P.O. Box 1389, Vero Beach, FL 32961-1389

City of Wauchula

P.O. Box 818, Wauchula, FL 33873-0818

City of Williston

P.O. Drawer 160, Williston, FL 32696-0160

City of Winter Park Electric Utility

401 S. Park Ave., Winter Park, FL 32789-4319

Rural Electric Cooperatives

A rural electric cooperative utility is a joint venture organized for the purpose of supplying electric energy to a specified area. Such ventures are generally exempt from the federal income tax laws. The rates and revenues of rural electric cooperative utilities are regulated by their elected cooperative officers. Most cooperatives have been financed by the Rural Electrification Association. Most electric cooperatives in Florida are represented by the Florida Electric Cooperatives Association Inc.

The following is a comprehensive list of rural electric cooperatives utilities in Florida.

Companies and locations



Central Florida Electric Cooperative

P.O. Box 9, Chiefland, FL 32644-0009

Choctawhatchee Electric Cooperative

P.O. Box 512, DeFuniak Springs, FL 32435-0512

Clay Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 308, Keystone Heights, FL 32656-0308

Escambia River Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 428, Jay, FL 32565-0428

Florida Keys Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 377, Tavernier, FL 33070-0377

Glades Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 519, Moore Haven, FL 33471-0519

Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative 

722 U.S. Hwy. 22, Wewahitchka, FL 32465-0220

Lee County Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 3455, North Fort Myers, FL 33918-3455

Okefenoke Rural Electric Membership 

P.O. Box 602, Nahunta, GA 31553-0602

Peace River Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 1310, Wauchula, FL 33873-1310

PowerSouth Energy Cooperative 

P.O. Box 550, Andalusia, AL 36420-0550

Seminole Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 272000, Tampa, FL 33688-2000

Sumter Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 301, Sumterville, FL 33585-0301

Suwannee Valley Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 160, Live Oak, FL 32064-0160

Talquin Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 1679, Quincy, FL 32353-1679

Tri-County Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 208, Madison, FL 32341-0208

West Florida Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 127, Graceville, FL 32440-0127

Withlacoochee River Electric Cooperative 

P.O. Box 278, Dade City, FL 33526-0278